Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage contains the legal requirements and statutory guidance which we follow. Nursery and Reception classes are referred to as the foundation stage of learning, because it is during this time that attitudes to learning are formed and social skills developed which lay the foundations for future education. At Tansley Primary School we strive to ensure that early years experiences are happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, with the balance of child-initiated play, focused and structured learning to ensure that they enjoy learning to read, write, use numbers, think mathematically, explore their world and make creations.


Learning and Development

There are seven areas of learning development. All areas are important and interconnected. The prime areas are:

  •  Communication and language

  •  Physical development

  •  Personal, social and emotional development


The children are also supported in four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. These specific areas are:

  •  Literacy

  •  Mathematics

  •  Understanding the world

  •  Expressive arts and design


The children are taught and assessed under the sections of the EYFS, set out below:


Area of Learning and Development Aspect

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development : Making relationships; Self-confidence and self-awareness Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Physical Development: Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care
  • Communication and Language: Listening and attention; Understanding; Speaking

Specific areas

  • Literacy: Reading ; Writing
  • Mathematics : Numbers ; Shape, space and measures
  • Understanding the World: People and communities ; The world ; Technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design: Exploring and using media and materials ; Being imaginative


Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. Play underpins the delivery of all the EYFS. Young children learn most effectively through structured play.


You can find out more about the EYFS and the stages of learning here:


If you would like more information on what we are looking for in all these different areas of learning, please click on the full progress tracker link below.
Click on the link below to find more support materials for early reading at home.

Our EYFS at Tansley Primary School

Our big, outdoor space
Our outdoor activity greenhouse
Oaks class mud kitchen in the snow
Click on the EYFS link below to find out more about our EYFS within Oaks class at Tansley Primary School and see lots more photos!
Click on the links below to find some ways in which you can support your child at home.